Fresh report on week 6 “Help Me!”. Cinematographers point of view.

11 03 2010

Hello, folks once again!

Tripod Man.

The day of the viewing is inevitably approaching so I, as a cinematographer of this weeks film, feel obliged to share my thoughts about how it went, what I did, how I felt etc..

First of all, I can say that I was quite concerned about how am I going to cope with the cinematographers role, as without a doubt its one of the most important, if not the most important, roles in group, especially if you forget to push the record button or put the tape in, you might get killed.

At the start we had some problems with tripod it desperately didn’t want to get stated so it didn’t make my mission any easier…

Though, during the shooting I received quite clear instructions from our director – Ali , so thanks to that that it eased my work and I could pick up some confidence. 

Time limit was a pressuring issue this time and the final scenes were shot in awful hurry and on top of the cake, battery went flap…. But despite some obstacles we managed to get the equipment back, more or less, in time. Though I still felt quite uneasy, because I thought I didn’t do good enough work with the camera.

About the final outcome. Indeed I might join Nicci and Iwan and say that this might also be my favorite film that our group has made. Once again editing did extremely well, music and video montage where Luke is in his room doing some stuff and feeling lonely, concerned was probably my favorite scene. I was quite surprised that it turned out to be that long, almost 5 minutes, I guess that’s why we lacked the time in the end.

I can’t deny that I’m quite satisfied with the outcome, so good job group and lets hear what tutors and other groups are going to say about our latest film!

Ilvo Kristapsons


Actions

Information

Leave a comment